Presenting: You

Thanksgiving is nearly upon us – a day of family and feasting, football and the potential for another famous game: question dodging.  I hope that even in the midst of job search everyone within reach of this post can make a list of things for which they are thankful.  (Writing this sentence has reminded me of the simple prayer that was used to start each job search meeting at a faith based group that I attended last year.  The prayer was non-denominational, but made a point to remind each job seeker to be aware of the things that are going right in their life.  I really liked that.)

 

The idea for this post came to me as I was searching the newsfeed on Yahoo and came across a Mashable article.  I like this article because it is succinct and also has some concrete information – Mashable: Cover Letter Keywords – even though it still doesn’t reduce the subjective nature of the whole job search process.

 

Job search is smack in the middle of self-promotion territory – a place that many of us feel very uncomfortable visiting.  Add in the pressure of family members kindly or salaciously asking for a status update at the Thanksgiving table and, well, yikes.

 

public domain image

public domain image

The descriptive words that this article suggests makes the self-promotion more of an exercise in self-description.  I am capable, I can do this and this and this.  Here are examples of times that I did these things.  Say it with me, I am capable.  I can think of things that I do well.  I can think of things for which I am thankful.  I can enjoy the opportunity to see family and have a great meal at Thanksgiving.

 

Beth Anne Reed has a background in Customer Relations, Process & Project Management and a deep interest in Written Communications.

© 2014 Blog to Work | Blogging your way to a job, All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

