Presenting the same words, but providing a different experience

This summer, I read through the first six Ian Fleming’s James Bond novels on my aging Kindle e-reader. I read the seventh episode, ’Goldfinger’ in a paperback format from my local library.

With the e-reader, the first six novels were presented in a very consistent manner – the font was always the same, page clarity was the same, and being digital, they all weighed the same and shared the same physical dimensions of the e-reader.

The paperback book, I noticed, provided much more character.  I could tell by the seasoned cover that this specific book had been called upon many times, and had come through with all of its pages intact.  Its pages were yellowed, and my sense of smell got involved as I sensed its accumulated dust.  As I came across a folded page, I knew someone had paused there, with the intent of returning at a later time.  These dynamics are not provided through the e-reader.

Public Domain Image

I am not making a ‘new tech vs. old tech’ comparison.  Had I bought a brand-new paperback, I’d be aware that no one else had previously walked through its pristine, crisp, pages, and I’d hear the binding’s stretching sound when first opened (which could easily turn into a crackling sound if opened too wide).  A brand-new edition needs to be read many times before it can display the features of my loaned library paperback.  Each paper book represents itself in a different way, although each contains the same text. That same text is, again, represented differently through the e-reader.  Neither of these three formats is necessarily better, and at different times, I’ll prefer one of these three formats over the other two.

Although your resume lists your achievements, the ‘why’ and ‘how’ you embarked on them are generally left out due to space constraints.  However, these points explain your motivation, who you are, and how you may fit into the hiring company’s culture. Other applicants may have similar text regarding their accomplishments, but no one has your specific history or motivations.

The better you can convey a sense of who you are, within your resume or on-line profile, the more you will stand out, because that is what will set you apart from other applicants. Before focussing upon this point, I heard (more than once) the following during a phone screening: “Although I liked your resume, now that I am talking to you, I see there is so much more to you than came across there.”

Do you believe the words on your resume, or online profile, do a good job of reflecting WHO you are, along with your accomplishments?

Allan Channell is a new ‘Blog to Work’ contributor.  He has experience in software development, project management, and has interests in communications, Tai Chi, and humor.

Leave a Reply

