Changing Tactics

One of the last vacation trips my parents took us on was to Glacier National Park in Montana. I won’t elaborate too much about the details of the trip, except to say that as far as I can remember, the scenery around the park, especially Lake McDonald, was pretty good.

 

I had received a fishing rod as a present the previous Christmas, and, since I was a Boy Scout back then, was eagerly looking forward to trying my hand at fishing. My family had rented a cabin by that lake for several days that summer, so I made it a point to try out my fishing rod. I would cast my fishing line in the hope of catching a fish. I would keep at it for awhile, then go back to our cabin, and try again the next day.

 

For those few days during that trip, my luck wasn’t very good. I caught no fish. Not a single one. Maybe the fish were not biting those days. Only a stone or two thrown by another child from a neighboring cabin to try to make me think that fish were actually biting. (He didn’t fool me.) Or maybe there weren’t any fish in the lake at all. I really don’t know.

 

ImageThat pretty much was the extent of me trying to show off any fishing prowess I may have had. I do not recall going fishing again. Was it because I lost interest? Probably. At any rate, since I was still in grade school, and very prone to suddenly jump from one interest to another, I decided to pursue other forms of recreation.

 

In a way, isn’t searching for a job the same as fishing? When you respond to a job posting, apply to a job online, or go to a networking meeting, aren’t you also “casting” a line? Sure you are. I’ve had to “fish” for jobs several times throughout my adult life. And just like that experience I had years ago, there were times when it seemed like no employers are “biting”, or at least “nibbling”. That doesn’t mean that you have to stop looking for a job, because you really don’t have a choice here. It just means that it’s about time to take a different approach, or change tactics, to your job search. There are two issues here. The first issue is to decide what change to make. The second issue is to decide when to make that change.

 

Here is how I handled that grade school experience. I took up swimming, another form of recreation involving water. And I made that decision quickly.

 

Back then, I changed my recreational interest. More recently, I’ve had to change the way I look for a job.

 

It may not be as easy to make changes today as it was back then, but, it is still easier to change your job-searching tactics than it is to change your career. All one has to be able to do is to recognize when to make that change.

 

 

Dave Vandermey is a web developer.

Leave a Reply

