Take Care Of Yourself

There’s a documentary that came out May 9, called Fed Up, with Katie Couric as a producer and narrator. It’s about the really horrible stuff most of us Americans eat most of the time and in conjunction with the release of the movie, Katie issued a challenge: give up sugar, or at least added sugar, for 10 days, starting Monday May 12. I’ve been concerned about sugar in my diet for quite a while so I decided to take the challenge. I gave myself permission not to be perfect at it, but I’m making an authentic effort to be aware of, and eliminate, most of the sugar I eat.

Today is day 8 and it hasn’t been easy. When you start looking for it by reading nutrition labels you’ll see how pervasive sugar really is. The “100% Whole Wheat” bread I’d been eating has 4 grams of sugar per slice. Wish-Bone Italian salad dressing has 3 grams in a 2-tablespoon serving. Paul Newman’s Cabernet Marinara pasta sauce has 9 grams of sugar per ½ cup serving. Yikes. I haven’t given up sugar completely but I’ve cut way back and I do notice a difference in terms of how I feel, and I may have lost a couple of pounds too, which is always good.

What does this have to do with job search? While it may not be a good idea to try to completely alter your eating habits, I do believe that if there was ever a time to be at your best, job search is it. Job search is hard so it makes sense to give yourself every advantage. No big surprises or bombshell suggestions here, I’m talking about the basics: Get enough sleep. Eat healthier foods, at least most of the time. Get some exercise if you can.

There are many elements of job search that are out of my control and I try very hard not to obsess about them. My goal is to control the things I can control and that includes taking care of myself so I can be at my best. And I’m not giving up sugar forever. I’ve been saving a great recipe for Triple-Chocolate Mousse Cake and I’m going to make it the day I get my great new job.

If you’d like to learn about the 10-Day Challenge, check out the website at fedupmovie.com

Note: some of this material originally appeared in my personal blog, Writing The World.

Kimberly Hanes is a writer with a passionate love for words and ideas, with extensive experience in business communications and event planning.

© 2014 Blog to Work | Blogging your way to a job, All rights reserved

2 responses

  1. My dad was diagnosed with diabetes in his early 40s while I was still at home (and the main family cook at the time) so we started to read labels then and it was a real eye opener. I have done my best to minimize this unintentional sugar off and on since then. It is a near impossible task to remove it entirely unless you make all of your own food from scratch.
    Good tie in to job search, Kimberly.

  2. Kimberly Hanes | Reply

    It’s so true – sugar is everywhere. Still, I’m feeling better and noticing a difference by eating much less sugar. I also made tomato sauce from scratch – yum!

Leave a Reply

