Little Victories

I must admit that it has been some time since my latest blog. I apologize for that. I’m sure that most of us job-seekers have, at one time or another, found ourselves diverted away from our main goal, which is getting that big victory, also known as the next job.

A big victory in the job search can mean different things to different people. Some job-seekers might tell you that it is not a big victory until they get that first paycheck at their next job. To others, the big victory might be the first day at that next job, a job offer, a job interview, or at least a phone call that leads to a job interview. Success in the job search is in the view of the job-seeker, and job-seekers are different.

For those who have been out of work for a long time, big victories may seem few and far between. This can be depressing. But, I have found one antidote for this depression. It is something that I call “little victories”. Like big victories, little victories don’t just simply come to you. Unlike the big victories, they may be right under your nose; all you have to do is be on the lookout for them. And sometimes they can even be found in a problem that you have to solve, like the one I will describe below.

Image

Here is the situation. Several weeks ago, I decided to put the information I have on potential target companies into something more manageable than the large spreadsheet that I had recently downloaded. Doing this would allow me to see the information about a target company without having to scroll to the right. Being the problem solver that I am, I decided to change one of my computer applications that I wrote in Visual Basic several years ago.

But, when I tried to make a small change to this computer application, I discovered that my change could not be applied due to errors in a previous compilation. This application still works the way I originally wanted it to. However, any changes I make to this application will not be applied. So, until I upgrade the code, I can’t expand this application to include potential target companies.

In addition, this computer application uses a Microsoft Access database whose version has become outdated. So do 2 other applications that I wrote years ago.

As a result of these 2 situations, the action I am choosing to take is to upgrade all 3 of the applications to the newer versions of Visual Basic and Microsoft Access.

The actions I have taken to accomplish this range from simply experimenting with changes to code, to getting on the internet and looking for ideas on how to deal with these newer versions of Visual Basic and Microsoft Access. Every time I discover a way to resolve a situation or problem, I consider that to be a little victory. Each little victory then reveals the next problem to be dealt with, and therefore, another little victory when I solve that problem. And so it goes.

The short-term result of all of these little victories will be that my computer application will be able to handle information about my potential target companies.

Another result of all of this is the sense of accomplishment that all of these little victories will give me, which, in turn, increases my self-confidence.

I don’t know how long this action will take me to complete. I also don’t know if I will be using these skills in my next job. But at least I will have the ability to show a future employer what I can do in this skill, if necessary. This can lead to a big victory.

If you find that you are getting depressed during your job search, here is my suggestion; don’t worry about not getting that big victory, because if you do, you will miss out on all of those little victories that lie in your path to getting that next job. Those little victories can keep your morale up during the job search. Don’t take them too lightly.

Leave a Reply

