Landing & Lessons Learned

By Tim Klepaczyk

LinkedIn:  www.linkedin.com/in/timklepaczyk/

Public Domain Image

Public Domain Image

I apologize to my loyal readers for missing a post last week.  That has been rare for me, but I think most will understand my reasons – yesterday I started the highest-paid job I’ve found in 5-1/2 years!  The outpouring of congratulations from family and friends has been heart-warming.  I believe I said it here a long time ago – you’re not in the job search alone if you have a good support network.  (This is for real – no April Fools.)

The new job is obviously now my top priority.  Consequently, I’m not promising to write weekly for the foreseeable future.  Hopefully I can still find time to post occasionally.  In the meantime, it’s a good opportunity to reflect on lessons learned.

1)      You reap what you sow.  The U.S. recently endured the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression.  I felt that renewing my career depended primarily on the economic recovery.  I did what worked before, relying mostly on recruiters.  I was too passive.  Only since last June did I really pull out all the stops.  Don’t pull back on the throttle thinking “it’s a bad hiring market”.  You want to be first in line whenever more opportunities start showing up.

2)      Job search is constantly changing.  I never used LinkedIn in a job search before.  Job search today is different than it was five years ago.  Five years ago it was different than it was ten years ago.  Seek out people in the know and incorporate the latest thinking and techniques.

3)      My new job search also started yesterday.  Certainly my new colleagues must know I look forward to working with them and doing a good job for my new company.  However, the reality is long-term employment is a rare luxury.  Maintain your networks and perhaps next time you’ll have another job ready when your current one ends.

Tim Klepaczyk is an RF & microwave engineer with over 20 years of experience in applications & sales and product design & validation.  He also loves writing.

© 2014 Blog to Work | Blogging your way to a job, All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

