Sales Approach: Just Be Yourself

By Deb Bryan

While listening to a seasoned sales professional talk to his new recruits I heard, “Just be yourself.”  What a welcomed thought!

I have been on the job search trail for a while.  I have been told to retool; pursue further education, dye your hair, memorize behavioral interview questions, lose weight, excel at networking, reframe your thinking for “you are not your job search”.  It is refreshing to hear the words, “just be yourself”?

The truth is we all are selling something; we all have talents we would like to use in the market place.  Sure, there are days we would not give a plug nickel for what we’re selling while the newspapers assure us there are people and companies who struggled.  Other days, we are just fine. We feel a bit confused by our culture with a tinge of worry about our future but then, so are our fearless leaders; and they’ve got jobs.

Another day I feel good about myself, what I have accomplished, and what I have still to contribute.  What feels good today  is though I have been through some difficult times and had some hard lessons-learned along the way, I have given back to the society around me.  My dad likes to call it ‘keeping my ears level’.

American Rock Band, The Byrds, had a hit song titled, Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season).  The lyrics of this song recorded in 1964, reminds us there is

Dove of Peace, Bing

Dove of Peace, Bing

A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time for love, a time for hate
A time for peace, I swear it’s not too late lyricsfreak.com/b/byrds/turn+turn+turn_20026419.html

They were right; there is a time to make peace and the time to make peace with ourselves is right now.  Among the numerous reasons to make peace, there is one we can take even into the marketplace.  As we make the sale of these wonderful and worthwhile products of time and talent to the market place we can show up and be ourselves, our best selves.

I wish you peace my friend.

Deb Bryan has 20 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry.  She has a passion for writing and Toastmasters International.© 2013 Blog to Work/Blogging your way to a job.  All rights reserved

2 responses

  1. What a wonderful thought to glean from the sales talk! It is really the heart of the matter. I am of the opinion that a strong element contributing to one’s attractiveness -in any sense of the word- is confidence. Which, of course, begins with being yourself.

    another opinion: when considering canditates, I always wanted to know more about who they were and less about their “qualifications”. Most jobs can be learned and, in fact, must be learned regardless of the experience in the specific field. So the most important qualities to me were those of integrity and character.

    Therefore, when I found myself interviewing for a new job, it became a practice to answer, not the questions I was asked, but rather the questions they should be asking. I answered honestly and NOT with the prepared responses recommended. This sets me apart. Which is what we are supposed to be…..set apart.

    1. Thanks Cyndy for insightful opinion.

Leave a Reply

