Communicating Your Passion

By Tim Klepaczyk

LinkedIn:  www.linkedin.com/in/timklepaczyk/

I am a member at an outplacement center that provides a series of workshops to help people searching for new jobs.  One of the first workshops was also one of the most interesting to me.  Strengths Finder is a survey used at outplacement centers and in industry to help one identify the types of tasks where one excels.  Much about Strengths Finder can be easily found on-line.  I talked before about how I find Strengths Finder, Meyers-Briggs, and other surveys fun.  Today I will talk about how you can use the insight gained from Strengths Finder to do better in interviews.

Public Domain Image by Ambro from FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Public Domain Image by Ambro from FreeDigitalPhotos.net

When I was talking to my career coach a few weeks ago, I relayed the good feeling I had in an initial interview with a company.  I told him I felt I did well was because the requirements for the position are a good fit to the strengths that were identified when I took the Strengths Finder survey.

My coach followed this up with some really good advice.  Frame answers to interview questions in the context of your personal strengths.  For example, a common interview question is to discuss one of your weaknesses.  An effective way to address it is to bring up an example from your career when you were tasked with doing something that does not come naturally to you, and that takes special effort to persevere.  After all, even the best jobs have tasks that can be a chore.  One of my natural strengths is that I am a Learner – I have a voracious appetite for new information.  I was able to do this task well when I realized I could lean on this one strength, in spite of other aspects that weren’t as engaging to me.

Frame your interview answers in the context of your personal strengths and your passion will come through naturally.

Tim Klepaczyk is an RF & microwave engineer with over 20 years of experience in applications & sales and product design & validation.  He also loves writing.

© 2014 Blog to Work | Blogging your way to a job, All rights reserved

One response

  1. “Frame your interview answers in the context of your personal strengths and your passion will come through naturally.” Well said, Tim. Connecting our personal strengths to the company’s needs in a way that is meaningful to the interviewer is so important.

Leave a Reply

