Bad Cursive & the Job Search

By Tim Klepaczyk

LinkedIn:  www.linkedin.com/in/timklepaczyk/

A couple of weeks ago I was preparing my Christmas cards.  I sign each with a holiday greeting.  Every year I’m reminded that I don’t think my cursive is very legible.  It’s especially true when I write similar things repeatedly; I seem to get careless.  Even if my perception about my cursive is correct, I think there are lessons for one’s job search.

Sometimes I come out of an interview second-guessing the answers I gave to some of the questions.  Most of the time, in retrospect, it turns out to be a waste of mental energy.  We are naturally anxious to make a good impression, and interview questions are generally open-ended.  There are countless ways one can answer open-ended questions; the important thing is communicating that you know how to do the job.  I am confident of that most of the time.  It’s a bit like a short Christmas message in bad cursive; most of your friends can figure out what you’re trying to say.

Public Domain Image

Public Domain Image

Also, don’t get hung up on things that are losing their value.  So you once were a master of some obscure computer application no one seems to use anymore.  The important thing is you demonstrated your ability to master a skill and can repeat it for applications that matter today.  Perhaps a better analogy is fretting over something that has been all the rage but you haven’t used very much.  For example, I never use Twitter.  If I found a value in it, I certainly would use it.  I do understand it has a value to others that I may not fully appreciate, but I also remember when MySpace was all the rage.  It’s a bit like fretting over bad cursive – many school districts don’t even teach cursive anymore!

Stay focused on the things that really matter.

Tim Klepaczyk is an RF & microwave engineer with over 20 years of experience in applications & sales and product design & validation.  He also loves writing.

© 2013 Blog to Work | Blogging your way to a job, All rights reserved

One response

  1. Tim, nicely done. I like your cartoon.

Leave a Reply

