Managing the Information Age

By Tim Klepaczyk

LinkedIn:  www.linkedin.com/in/timklepaczyk/

I remember a conversation I had with my boss several years ago.  I was working as an application and sales engineer, and he lamented the hundreds of e-mails he needed to wade through frequently.  I didn’t receive as much e-mail as him, but I received enough that I could relate to his concerns.

I’m reminded of the conversation when I work on my job search.  I belong to over 50 LinkedIn groups and subscribe to many of their weekly updates.  I get other e-mail alerts, such as from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Illinois Department of Employment Security.  If you also receive a lot of e-mails dealing with it is of course only one of one’s job search tasks.

public domain image

public domain image

However, I never felt overwhelmed then or now.  It’s a matter of prioritization.  Make a mental note of which e-mails require prompt attention, which can be put on the backburner, and which can be ignored.  Are you consistently ignoring e-mails from a common source?  Unsubscribe to that one.

Additionally, my job search coach provided a document to me that I use to track my efforts.  It has separate rows for many metrics, such as job applications submitted, networking e-mails and phone calls, networking lunches and events, phone and on-site interviews, and work on my LinkedIn and Repio profiles.  I also have a spreadsheet where I track the details of job leads I’m pursuing, with separate pages for active and inactive leads.  Such records are not only useful today;  they are also useful in the future.  I have job search records dating back more years than I’m willing to admit, although that is perhaps a sign more than anything else of some overdue Spring cleaning.

Technologies are tools; always control them, do not let them control you.

Tim Klepaczyk is an RF & microwave engineer with over 20 years of experience in applications & sales and product design & validation.  He also loves writing.

© 2013 Blog to Work | Blogging your way to a job, All rights reserved

2 responses

  1. This is one of the better talks I have seen regarding the management of email. The concept of “processing” your inbox before actually responding was invaluable. It is rather long, but worth it!

    1. Thanks, Ken, I’ll take a look at your link when I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

