Take Us Up, Mr. Sulu: The Dare

By Deb Bryan

Starship Enterprise

Starship Enterprise

My brother and I were not bad, we were quick, energetic, and had a passion for exploring. What one of us thought of the other one was soon to do, approaching our exploring with small differences. Today, my brother’s idea of exploring is to drive up to an island in upper Michigan and explore while camping for two weeks; the more primitive the camping the better. I like to explore new towns as I drive out to one of America’s beautiful coastlines and when I finally get tired, sleep in the back of my truck. We don’t take anyone with us because there is a more heighten sense of awareness when we are on our own. It makes me smile just thinking about hitting the road again.

When my company downsized in 2010 and I was a part of the group that was cut free, I was in shock for long while. I buried myself in a myriad of activities that were suggested and worked at not freaking out. I read somewhere to do normal activities. What was normal, for Pete’s sake? The vista before me was huge and uncharted territory by anyone I knew well! The fear radiating out from the people in my job search circle was almost tangible. I felt a strong need to survive when suddenly, the desire to explore my new surroundings came over me. It was almost like I was being dared to make something of myself in my new reality. My numb soul was being dared to be brought back to life again.

That dare brought me full circle to some people and things I had left in my past but it also took me to new faces and new places. I had a desire to do more than survive, I wanted to thrive. My risks at first were small but those risks were the building blocks I used to say, “I can more than this” and meant it. There was no arrogance, no false sense of ability, just a calm that came from being aware of my own accomplishments and new capabilities.

This poem means a great deal to me as I am my journey:

After a while you learn
that love doesn’t mean leaning,
that kisses aren’t contracts, and presents aren’t promises…
And you begin to accept defeats
with your head up and your eyes open,
With the grace of an adult, not the grief of a child.
So you plant your own garden
and decorate your own soul,
instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers.
And you learn that you can endure…
That you really are strong
and you really do have worth,
and that with every new tomorrow
comes the dawn.

Are you stuck in a job search lurch? You know this doesn’t have to master you. Courage my friend; be the Star Trek Captain, James T. Kirk, of your own life. I simply dare you.

Deb Bryan has 20 years of experience in office management in the pharmaceutical industry. She has a passion for writing.

© 2013 Blog to Work/Blogging your way to a job. All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

