Network for Life

By Tim Klepaczyk

LinkedIn:  www.linkedin.com/in/timklepaczyk/

Public Domain Image

Public Domain Image

I sometimes think about what advice I’d give my younger self.  Perhaps that’s because I don’t have any children, although there have been a few times I’ve been able to give advice to my nieces and nephew.  I don’t live life with regrets, but I think most of us can’t help but consider when we could have benefited from counsel we did not get at key points in our lives.

I would tell my younger self to network for life.  An admonition I hear repeated most times I go to my Saturday morning job networking meeting is that your next job search starts when your current one ends.   Lately I’ve taken that more and more to heart, and networking is of course the best way to turn up new opportunities.

My sister’s husband runs a small hospital.  He has preached the importance of networking throughout his career, even though he hasn’t had to endure the disruptions that have impacted mine.  Certainly, networking is about more than just finding another job; it’s also about improving your career success.  However, my point is that it is essential for your “lifelong” job search.

I’ve been out of work more than once during tough hiring climates.  I think in recent times I’ve been too passive, too reliant on what has worked before (i.e., mostly recruiters), too dependent on letting the economy turn around, and not active enough networking and thinking about what comes next.  The active networkers are at the head of the line when the job market perks back up.  Passivity in networking has delayed me getting to the head of the line.

What are the three most important things in your job search and career at all times?  Network, network, network.

Tim Klepaczyk is an RF & microwave engineer with over 20 years of experience in applications & sales and product design & validation.  He also loves writing.

© 2013 Blog to Work | Blogging your way to a job, All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

