Business Cards and Calling Cards

Silver Tray P1010128 (08-28-2013) smaller brighter

By Cynthia Simmons

(My thought is that some people don’t pay enough attention to their business cards and confuse them with calling cards. They don’t put keywords, indicate value-added, or use self-branding on their business cards.)

From when I was a child, I remember the three years my family lived in South Carolina and there was a silver calling card tray on a table by the front door. The tray was elegantly oval and embellished, flat with a raised serpentine lip, engraved at the center with a large formal S in script font. My mother kept calling cards from visitors in it.

So, I’ve always known about calling cards.

Later, when I grew up and went to work, one of my goals was to have a business card. I did accomplish that goal, as have most of us.

But now, when people hand me their cards as part of a business introduction, I feel sad if I am given a calling card. Because a calling card only has someone’s name and contact information. It doesn’t indicate profession, affiliation, service, or any of the details that make a brand. It’s as if someone were saying—Hire me!—but they won’t tell me what they do.

The world has gotten much bigger, with much more of everything. Now just your name is not enough.

A business card that is well-conceived, designed, and written can have your resume’s essence, “You” distilled into what is most salient about you professionally.

To get down to business, a business card should be deliberate, include keywords, and say what you can do for the world in direct, succinct language. And you may want to include a tagline to market yourself. A business card is perhaps your smallest marketing tool and surely the one most easily shared.

 

Leave a Reply

